top of page

Book Review I Six of Crows

4.5/5

Six of Crows has officially become one of my top favourite books, and I recommend it to everyone who is sick and tired of all the revolutionary hero plots that are spreading around in YA novels.

To summarize, it basically revolves around a mastermind criminal, Kaz Brekker, who is set on a deadly mission, only for the grand prize. The mission is quite impossible, since he needs to break into the heavily armed and tightly shielded Ice Court. Kaz will need to find the right crew to pull this mission off, but even so, will the odds be in his favour? Will everything workout as planned?

The book is a perfect blend of complex world-building, great character development and diversity. Sigh. The writing. The writing was so good, it literally felt like Bardugo took such care and was sensitive to every sentence she wrote. The book is the written from a third person point of view, which is really suitable for Six of Crows, since it doesn’t only revolve around one character, but SIX of them.

And by the way, it is set I the same world as the Grisha verse, but instead of being in Russia it’s in an alternate Netherlands.

The characters were amazing. We have the leader, Kaz Brekker, his sidekicks, Jesper Fahey and Inej Ghafa. He also has connection to a Grisha, Nina Zenik, and later he joins forces with Wylan Van Eck, the son of a rich mercher who’s escaped from his father. And let’s not forget Matthias (I forgot his last name, don’t kill me), your rogue ex-boyfriend who’s still confused about whether he loves you or hates you. I have mentioned this before, but still, THERE ARE NO GOOD OR BAD PEOPLE IN THIS. They’re criminals, thieves, runaways and convicts. AND NONE OF THE CHARACTERS ARE REPEATED. They’re all completely different. And let’s not fotget all the kickass scenes in the book. It isn’t just a “oh there was a fight and this person got hurt” book, it was much more detailed and every action was described and mentioned. They were proper fight scenes, and I loved it.

BUT THE ENDING. Honestly the ending was just a big blow to my brain. I was literally gaping at the book. I don’t want to spoil it for people who haven’t read the book yet, so I won’t exactly say what happened. If you want to scream over the ending though, you’re welcome to message me either on my blog or DM on Insta.

One drawback (kind of) of the book though is that nothing will make sense to you from the first 4 or so chapters. Once you start to get deeper into a book though, everything will automatically make sense. I’ve heard some people say that you need to read the Grisha Trilogy first, then get on with Six of Crows, but I don’t think that that’s necessary. I haven’t read the Shadow and Bone Series yet, but the book definitely made sense to me. You can go ahead it and read it if you haven’t read Shadow and Bone. It would be preferable though, if you want everything to make sense from the very first chapter.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page